Waihiga Mwaura and Timothy Otieno Among The Big Winners At The AJE Awards 2021

Kenya’s top journalists were awarded at the just concluded Annual Journalism Excellence Awards 2021 organized by the Council on 4th May 2021 in Nairobi.

A total of Sixty (60) Kenyan journalists were recognized for their exemplary reporting over the last year by the Media Council of Kenya.

“The awards are a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Kenya which also provide a platform to inspire young and upcoming journalists to progress in their careers both in and out to the newsroom,” stated Hon. Lady Justice Philomena Mwilu.

Waihiga Mwaura Biography, Age, Wife, Wedding, Career - RALINGO

Among the big winners of the night included Waihiga Mwaura who won the investigative reporting award.

“Honoured by this 2021 @MediaCouncilK investigative award which is actually a joint effort. I salute the 4 brave #MaraHeist whistleblowers & at @citizentvkenya  @LinusKaikai @jamilamohamed @nelsonaruya & @ashawilu @debunkdotmedi.God is good,” wrote Waihiga.

Asha Mwilu and Nelson Aruya took home the award for best COVID-19 reporting.


Timothy Otieno from KTN News walked home with two shiny awards as the overall Journalist of the Year.

“I wish my grandmother lived to see this day! But I’ll honour her the only way I can, by sharing her name with you all. Agnetah Ateto Obora! She sacrificed a lot for me & didn’t live to see the fruits of her labour. HONOURED to be this year’s #AJEA2021 Journalist of the Year! Thank you to @MediaCouncilK for awarding me Journalist of the Year and Good Governance reporting awards. THANK YOU the team at @KTNNewsKE for the unwavering support all these year and giving this young kid with a passionate heart a CHANCE, and that’s all young people ask for,” he wrote.

Congratulations to the big winners.

A voice, not an echo