Tribunal To Oversee Kenya Premier League Progress

Sports Disputes Tribunal will establish a monitoring mechanism and closely check the progress of the composition of 2017 Kenya Premier League.

This is after the tribunal managed to end a three month disagreement between Kenyan Premier League and Football Kenya Federation.

The tribunal will be expecting an update on the decision reached after it was agreed that the KPL season will comprise 18 teams up from 16 in 2016.

KPL and FKF however failed to settle on the exact figures in relation to two added teams to the KPL which has been having 16 teams since 2007.

FKF President Nick Mwendwa(left) with KPL CEO Jack Oguda

Up to Ksh 36,152,000 is required as suggested by finance teams from KPL and FKF sides who met under the supervision of Gabriel Ouko from the Tribunal.

FKF is required to pay Kshs 24,517,000 to KPL by Apr 1, 2017. This is a fraction of the amount declared, and is the balance left after KPL retains Kshs 11,635,000 due to FKF from the 2017 revenues which is derived from Kshs 7,133,500 due to FKF as license fees and Kshs 4,521,500 being the amount for the Joint Development Fund.

The whole issue started in Oct 12, 2016 when KPL filed a suit to stop FKF Annual General Meeting to discuss a motion on the expansion of Kenya Premier League from 16 to 18.

In the meantime,  FKF is set to announce the fate of the three relegated Kenyan Premier League clubs; Muhoroni Youth, Sofapaka and Thika United on Thursday at their offices in Kasarani.

Muhoroni, Sofapaka and Thika were relegated after failing to comply with the FIFA Club licensing. It didn’t go down however as the clubs appealed the verdict and were given a second chance to resubmit their documents for re-evaluation.

FKF President Nick Mwendwa will also give an update on the composition of the 2017 season as well as other leagues.

The new KPL season is set to kick off on Saturday Feb 11, 2017.

Sports and Technology Reporter. I use my football skills to convert Rugby tries.