Netflix Unveils East African Beneficiaries Of Its Creative Equity Scholarship

Netflix has announced the East Africa beneficiaries of the Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund (CESF). The fund aims to provide financial aid to African creatives to access quality tertiary education in film and TV-focused disciplines. It is part of Netflix’s global Creative Equity Fund.

According to Netflix, CESF’s inaugural cohort has 46 beneficiaries drawn from Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and South Sudan. The beneficiaries who were unveiled at a ceremony held at Nairobi’s KCA University will receive a full scholarship. This scholarship includes – tuition, accommodation, a living stipend, and education supplies.

Class of 2022 Roll Call

The award ceremony dubbed ‘Class of 2022 Roll Call’ event served as an informal ceremony to bring together students, partner institutions, and key stakeholders together to celebrate the scholarship’s recipients and the program at large.

In attendance were various government agency representatives. They include Kenya Film Commission CEO Timothy Owase, AG, Chief Manager Corporate Services at KFCB Pascal Opiyo, Deputy Director at Kenya National Commission for UNESCO Mrs. Emily Njeru, and Young Rich TV Ltd Founder Eugene Mbugua among others.


Also present were the cast and crew of Kenya’s first Netflix series Country Queen – Blessing Lung’aho, Melissa Kiplagat, and Melvin Alusa. Additionally, Disconnect actress Catherine Kamau and director Tosh also attended.


“At Netflix – it’s not just about the stories, it’s also about the people who make the stories. This is why today is all about celebrating the scholars who will be responsible for telling African stories, whether in front or behind the camera and putting Africa on the global map through endless stories. The richness in creativity, talent, and diversity has never been in doubt. What is lacking is more opportunities.” Said Shola Sanni Netflix Director of Public Policy, SSA.

So far, the awardees have enrolled for certificate (19), diploma (22), and degree (5) courses. The program is currently being administered by HEVA Fund. This is in partnership with Africa Digital Media Institute (ADMI), Kenya Film School (KFS), KCA University, Kenyatta University, and United States International University Africa (USIU). These 5 Kenyan institutions of higher learning will support the formal qualification and training of aspiring creatives from the region.

Email me at