Kenyans Shine In 2020 AFRIMMA Nominations

The AFRIMMA 2020 Nominees are finally out and Kenyans are shining bright with numerous nominations. This will be the 7th Edition of the award that seeks to celebrate exceptional musical talent from various regions in Africa.

Last year, the award ceremony took place in Dallas where 2 Kenyans bagged 2 awards. Khaligraph Jones scoped the Best Male Artist East Africa Award where he competed against Ali Kiba, Nyashinski, Harmonize, Juma Jux, Eddy Kenzo, Ommy Dimpoz, Rayvanny and The Ben.  The sultry voiced Nikita Kering won in the Best Female East Africa Award against Akothee, Vanessa Mdee, Sheebah, Fena Gitu, Rema Namakula, Knowles Butera, Juliana Kanyamozi, Victoria Kimani, Vinka and Nandy.

This year more Kenyans have spots in the coveted nominees’ list. Khaligraph is leading in the nominations with a second nomination for the Best Male East Africa alongside Otile Brown. Nadia Mukami, Akothee, Tanasha Donna and Fena Gitu have been nominated in the Best Female East Africa category. Khaligraph Jones has also been nominated for The Best Male Rap Act. Popular boy band Sauti Sol have Best African Group, Best Live Act, Video of The Year and Song of the Year nominations. DJ Moh Spice is on the Best DJ Africa nominees while US-Based Kenyan DJs DJ Poison Ivy, DJ Shinski and DJ Fully Focus have Best African DJ USA nominations.

KTN TV presenter Jamal Gaddafi has been nominated once again for the Radio/TV Personnel of The Year award and Muthoni Drummer Queen has a Best Female Rap Act nomination. The Best Collaboration Act Category has 2 Kenyan Nominations i.e Brighter Days by Sauti Sol Ft Soweto Gospel Group andYes Bana by Khaligraph Jones Ft Bien.  Video director Enos Olik has been nominated in the Best Video Director category.

The voting lines are open so hurry and vote for your favourite Kenyans here. The winners will be awarded at a virtual ceremony that is scheduled to take place on 15th November 2020.

Images courtesy.

Lover of positive vibes and good music. Email me at