Kenya Theatre Awards Unveil The 2024 Nomination List

The anticipation is at its peak as the Kenya Theatre Awards proudly unveiled the nominees for the 2024 edition. Inaugurated in 2022, these awards were created to recognize outstanding theatrical productions and talented artists. The Kenya Theatre Awards also celebrate the enduring legacy of practitioners who have become iconic figures in the vibrant Kenyan theatre scene.

Furthermore, the awards’ organizational structure and operational approach extend beyond the ceremony’s glitz and glamour. They serve as a comprehensive record-keeping system, capturing crucial details such as venue specifics, performance numbers, audience attendance by Kenyans, and, whenever possible, the revenue generated from the theatrical activities that grace the stages of Kenya.

A distinguished five-member jury representing various facets of the theatre community, including academia, practitioners, theatre associations, government, and media, plays a crucial role in the awards process. Tasked with diligently watching all stage performances held from January to December each year, the jury engages in numerous conferences to evaluate and announce the nominees for the coveted awards.

A wide spectrum of art disciplines is acknowledged by the awards. These include Drama, Plays, Comedy, and Farce (including productions of set works for schools) to One-Person/Solo Performance Shows, Musical Theatre (including Musical Revue), Dance Theatre, Physical Theatre and Ballet, Opera, Tertiary Student/Incubator Theatre, and Spoken Word Poetry Performances. With over 25 categories up for contention in this edition, the awards cover a vast array of accomplishments. Some of these are Best Production, Theatre Company of the Year, Best Producer, and Best Director.

For this exciting edition, voting is now open, allowing fans to participate in the process and cast their votes for their favorite nominees through the provided link.

Reflecting on the success of the previous editions, the list of previous winners includes esteemed names such as Bilal Mwaura, Wakio Mzenge, Charles Ouda, Nyokabi Macharia, Martin Kigondu, and Dr. Zippy Okoth, among others.

Email me at