Kenya Rugby Goes To Polls

A big decision will be made on Wednesday Mar 22, 2017 at Kenya Rugby Union headquarters when the Union goes to polls from 3pm.

Chairman and four directors are up for elections with the contesting candidates in final touches trying to woe delegates to vote for them come that particular afternoon at RFUEA grounds.

Incumbent chairman Richard Omwela will be looking for a re-election after serving his two years term but the race seems to be tougher than two years ago.

Richard Omwela

The Nairobi based Lawyer is facing competition from former Vice-captain Sasha Mutai and current director Pape Sembi from Western Bulls.  Sasha has been proposed by nationwide sides Eldoret and Thika RFC while Sembi is proposed by his home club Western Bulls whereas Omwela is offering himself for re-election.

Sasha Mutai

Four directors’ position are up for grabs with two new faces expected to the board as current director Paula Lanco is not eligible for election while Sembi has moved to chairman’s race.

Director of communications Ian Mugambi and his national squads and elite performance counterpart Oscar Mango are seeking a re-election after also serving two years.

KRU Delegates

New entrants into the director’s seats include Sylvia Mutai from Strathmore Leos, Kabras Sugar chairman Ray Olendo, Kenya Harlequins treasurer Ezekiel Owuor, Bonfas Salano from USIU and Hillary Itela.

Vice-chairman Thomas Opiyo, secretary Oduor Gangla, directors Moses Ndale and John Kilonzo are not up for election after getting into office in 2016 but will be in the race come 2018.

Apart from the elections, KRU AGM will also see the members discuss minutes of the previous meeting, appoint auditor for the next year and receive and consider for adoption the balance sheet and statement of accounts for the past year.

The list of validly nominated candidates to contest the election for officers and directors of the board in 2017 includes;

1.Richard Omwela –Eligible for re-election
2.Pape Sembi –Proposed by Western Bulls
3.Alexandar Sasha Mutai –Proposed by Eldoret RFC and Thika RFC

1.Oscar Mango –Eligible for re-election
2.Ian Mugambi –Western Bulls
3.Bonfas Salano –Proposed by USIU & Daystar
4.Ezekiel Owuor –Proposed by Kenya Harlequins
5.Raymond Olendo –Proposed by Strathmore
6.Sylvia Kamau –Proposed by TUK & Kabras
7.Hillary Itela –Proposed by Moi Uni and Eldoret RFC


Sports and Technology Reporter. I use my football skills to convert Rugby tries.