Kenya 7s To Open Singapore 7s Against Argentina

HSBC World Sevens Series eighth round, Singapore 7s set for Saturday, Apr 15, 2017 fixtures have been released by World Rugby.

Defending champions Kenya 7s will open the tournament at exactly Kenyan time against Argentina, a side they beat in 2016’s semifinals.

Kenya will then get to the field for the second time at 9.22am against Australia. The Aussies had a good outing in Hong Kong reaching the last four as Kenya lost to Scotland in the Challenge Trophy final.

The Innocent Simiyu boys will conclude pool matches at 12.56pm against Samoa as South Africa will be playing England. Fiji takes on Canada, Australia takes on Argentina, Scotland play Wales and USA conclude with New Zealand.

Kenya Sevens head coach Innocent Simiyu says they have to play like champions in Singapore 7s.

“It’s a tough pool which very physical in the likes of Australia and Argentina as per this season. This will be a breakdown battle in pool C,” said Simiyu.

Simiyu is however boosted by the return of Eden Agero who missed day two of Hong Kong 7s after getting a three-match ban due to a high tackle.

“He will be back from game one because he missed all the three games in day two of Hong Kong 7s. It’s a boost to the team and we have to play like champions,” concluded Simiyu

Singapore 7s fixtures:

Argentina vs Kenya 6am
Australia vs Samoa 6.22am
England vs France 6.44am
South Africa vs Japan 7.06am
Canada vs Russia 7.30am
Fiji vs Hong Kong 7.52
New Zealand vs Scotland 8.14am
USA vs Wales 8.36am
Argentina vs Samoa 9am
Australia vs Kenya 9.22am
England vs Japan 9.44am
South Africa vs France 10.06am
Canada vs Hong Kong 10.28am
Fiji vs Russia 10.50am
New Zealand vs Wales 11.12am

Kenya vs Samoa 12.56pm
Australia vs Argentina 13.18
France vs Japan 13.40
South Africa vs England 14.02
Russia vs Hong Kong 14.44
Fiji vs Canada 15.06
Scotland vs Wales 15.28
USA vs New Zealand 15.50


Sports and Technology Reporter. I use my football skills to convert Rugby tries.