Kalasha Awards 2022 Winners (Full List)

The Kalasha Awards 2022 ceremony took place at the Safari Park Hotel. It was hosted by celebrated media personalities Sheila Mwanyigha and Larry Asego. Kenya’s film elite, media, and film enthusiasts thronged the venue to celebrate the talent in Kenya’s vibrant and fast-growing film business.

Kalasha Awards 2022
Hosts Larry Asego and Sheila Mwanyigha
Philit Productions Founders Abel Mutua and Philip Karanja

Apart from nominees, enthusiasts, and media, the colorful event was also graced by top government officials – Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Youth Affairs, Sports and Culture, Hon Ababu Namwamba, Administration Secretary, Ministry of ICT and Digital Economy, Mrs. Juliana Yiapan and the Kenya Film Commission CEO Mr. Timothy Owase.  Also in attendance were key dignitaries – Nairobi Senator Hon Edwin Sifuna, The First daughter of Kenya and Zimbabwe, Charlene Ruto, and Miss Tariro.

Kalasha Awards 2022
Cabinet Secretary Hon. Ababu Namwamba and KFC CEO Mr. Timothy Owase
Kina Actress Sanaipei Tande

While officiating the Kalasha Awards 2022 gala, KFC CEO Mr. Timothy Owase expressed his confidence in the Kenyan film business by acknowledging that it is well on its way to global recognition. “The submissions we received this year has shown how much commitment and effort industry players are putting to ensure it remains steadfast. Interestingly, the number of submitted films for the 12th Edition of Kalasha Awards went up to 217 compared to 149 that were submitted in 2021. The additional 68 films show the hard work and extra effort the industry has put with regards to content creation.” He said.

H_Art The Band performing at the gala
Chaguo Actress Nyokabi Macharia
Njoro Wa Uba Actor Joe Kinyua

Just as in the nominations list Click Click Bang and Ayaanle dominated the 39-category winners’ list with 5 and 4 wins respectively. Seasoned actor Raymond Ofula received the Life Time Achievement Award. See the full winners list below:

Kalasha Awards 2022 Winners List

  1. Life Time achievement Award – Raymond Ofula
  2. Best Supporting Actor in a Film – Ian Nyakundi- Kasisi (Click Click Bang)
  3. Best Supporting Actress in a Film – Annstella Karimi- Eva (Baba Twins)
  4. Best Editor – Abbas Omar (Kiswahili Kitukuzwe)
  5. Best Lighting Technician – Jerry Kavita (Baba Twins)
  6. Best Special Effects – Khadija Abdulqadir (The Message)
  7. Best Director of Photography – Stanley Njogu (Gacal)
  8. Best Original Score – Kester Wakahenya (It Rained Again)
  9. Best Sound Designer – Abdalla Mohammed (Kiswahili Kitukuzwe)
  10. Best make Up and Hair stylist – Melissa “Pambo by Mel” Lesila (Click Click Bang)
  11. Best Costume Designer – Fatou (Ayaanle)
  12. Best Short Film – Christmas Love by Peter Kawa
  13. Best Documentary Feature – Story Yangu by Eugene Mbugua
  14. Best Documentary Short – Kiswahili Kitukuzwe by Omar Kibulanga
  15. Best Feature Film – Click Click Bang by Philip Karanja
  16. Best Original Screenplay – Ahmed Farah (Ayaanle)
  17. Best Production Designer – Isaac Njue (Ayaanle)
  18. Best Director – Ahmed Farah (Ayaanle)
  19. Best Regional Film – Gacal by Omar Hamza Hassan
  20. Best Lead Actress in a Film – Nyokabi Macharia- Wendo (Chaguo)
  21. Best Lead Actor in a Film – Basil Mungai- Kev (Click Click Bang)
  22. Kituo Halisi – NTV
  23. Best TV Advertisement – Nice and Lovely TVC by Amit Ramrakha
  24. Best TV Comedy – Varshita by Lucy Mwangi
  25. Best performance in A TV Comedy – Anthony Ngachira (TY) (Too Much Information with TY)
  26. Best TV Drama – Kina by Appie Matere
  27. Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama Foi Wambui- Arielle Mufasa (Salem)
  28. Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama- Moses Kiema- Leftie (Kina)
  29. Best TV Show – This Love by Eugene Mbugua
  30. Best lead Actress in a TV Drama – Sanaipei Tande- Nana Tandala (Kina)
  31. Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama – Joe Kinyua- Njoro (Njoro wa Uba)
  32. Best International Award – Still Okay to Date (Tanzania)
  33. Best Animation – Rev by Ibrahim Faruk Ali
  34. Best Kids Production – Preschool Kids Learning by Anne Kimani
  35. Best Student Film – Cheza by Nassanga Ann
  36. Best Student Documentary – The Scourge (Chira) by Clinton Oguma
  37. Best Gaming – Adventures of Mchupa by Gathukia Mwangi
  38. Best Viewers’ Choice Feature Film – Click Click Bang by Philip Karanja
  39. Best Viewers’ Choice TV Drama – Njoro Wa Uba by Lucy Mwangi

Email me at agnesopondo@gmail.com