Groove Awards 2019 Winners: Jabidii Makes History

Kenya’s biggest Gospel Awards Show finally went down over the weekend. The winners of Groove Awards 2019 were unveiled at a glitzy event hosted by DJ Sadiq in Movenpick Hotel, Westlands.

The nominees list was flooded with Gospel superstars such as Jabidii, Moij Short Baba, Pitson, Kabi Wa Jesus, Dj Mo, Kambua, Rebekah Dawn, Alice Kimanzi, Eunice Njeri, Hype Gad, Benachi, Zangi, Wahu, Joyce Omondi, Kush Tracey, Havoc, Dafari, Jfam, Stonee Jiwe among many other artists.

Jabidii topped the awards’ list by becoming the first to bag 5 awards – so far the most by an individual artist. The Vimbada hitmaker won in Reggae/Ragga Song of the Year, Teens Choice Song of the Year, Collabo of the Year, Dance Style/Song of the Year and Song of the Year categories.

There were also first-time winners such as Wahu Kagwi who bagged the Music Video of the Year Award for her song Nifanane Nawe. Eunice Njeri also made a triumphant come back after she got the Artiste of the Year Award.

Below is the full list of winners

Artiste of the Year – Eunice Njeri

Song of the Year: Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa

Music Video of the Year – Nifanane Nawe – Wahu Kagwe

Young Groover of the Year – Amani Gracious

Reggae/ Ragga Song of the Year – China – Jabidii

Teens Choice Song of the Year – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa

Collabo of the Year – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa 

Dance Style/ Song of the Year – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa 

Outstanding Contributor – RKay

Diaspora Artist of the Year – Benachi

Hypeman/ MC of the Year – Timeless Noel

Song Writer of the Year – Pitson

Online/ Digital Personality of the Year –  WaJesus FamilyKabi and Milly

Video Producer of the Year – Steve Mugo

The Audio Producer of the Year – Gideon Kimanzi

Breakthrough Female Artiste of the Year – Emma Omonge

Breakthrough Male Artiste of the Year – Baraka Musiq

Breakthrough Dj of the Year – Ken the Dj

Media Personality of the Year- Syombua Mwele

Praise and Worship Song of the Year – Zaidi Na ZaidiEunice Njeri

Nyanza Counties Song of the Year – Conquerer – Fenny Kerubo

Rift Valley Song of the Year – Kapchi – Mum Cherop 

Eastern Counties Song of the Year – Kyaa Kya Ngai –Stephen Kasolo

Coastal Song of the Year – Nakupenda – Eve Bahati

Central Song of the Year – Mutheani – Phyllis Mbuthia and Sammy Irungu

Western Song of the Year – Lwanda ni Yesu – Timothy Kitui and Ali Mukhwana

Images Courtesy

Lover of positive vibes and good music.