Full List Of Winners In The Sondeka Awards 2020

Sondeka Awards 2020 (Rona Edition) finally went down yesterday. The show which was broadcast on Sondeka Awards’ Facebook Live, YouTube Live and Website was hosted by the witty and humorous actor Yafesi Musoke. Under the hashtag #Sondekaawards2020, the ceremony began at 8 pm.

Creatives Garage Founder Liz Kilili who was one of the speakers took the opportunity to reinstate Creatives Garage’s commitment to empowering and celebrating artistes. Other speakers included: Film Producer Njoki Muhoho, Kenya Copyright Board Executive Director (KECOBO) Edward Sigei, Sondeka Awards 2020 Judge, Actor and Film Director Victor Gatonye and the Guests of honor Embassy of Sweden Mr. Michael Hjelmåke and His Excellency Nicolas Nihon, Ambassador to Kenya, Embassy of Belgium.

There were live performances from Afro-Fusion Singer Brian Sigu, Rising Rapper Malia and Music Band Shamsi Music. The show also had special appearances from Poet Sitawa Namwalie, Brand Afrika CEO Wangu Waweru, AfriLab Executive Director Nekesa Were, Poet and Writer Aleya Kassam, iN Nairobi Founder Nik Jackson, Potentash Editor Rayhab Gachago and Carol Opira.

The judges who received 197 submissions for this edition were looking for creativity, execution, quality, experience and innovation. There were 2 categories i.e. Street Art and Dance that were knocked out of this edition. Below are the winners of Sondeka Awards 2020:

Traditional Art

  • Emmanuel Wandera
  • Martin Liam Njiru
  • Francis Lee Gitahi
  • M_nine
  • Ango

Winner – Yona Wanjala Mudibo

Digital Art

  • Daniel Omulo Otieno
  • Feysal Anthony Nair
  • John mutahi
  • Ng’endo Mukii
  • Kelvin Shani

Winner – Benir

Experimental Music

  • Basthma
  • KALI
  • Nicolë Mumala Malöba
  • Cathy Matete
  • Maryolive W. Mungai

Winner – Halisi The Band

Poetry & Spoken Word

  • Mak Mansa
  • Cardiac Poet
  • Rene Solomon
  • Crazy Mwanafunzi
  • Alfaisal 254

Winner – Mumbi Macharia

Live Bands

  • Shamsi Music
  • RASH
  • WeN Music
  • Cheif and The Marshalls

Winner – Nairobi Horns Project

Online Radio & Podcasts

  • One Down
  • Mo Nyarinda
  • Friday Foreplay
  • The Get Down
  • Asylum Radio

Winner – Laze Reggae Invasion Podcast

Short Stories

  • Kennedy Kiiru Macharia
  • Ian Abraham Nyakinya
  • Moses Nguyai
  • Gladwell Pamba
  • CJ Gicheru

Winner – Wilson Westwood

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner – Wahome Mutahi (Columnist, Playwright and Author)

Judges Award

Winner – Serro

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.

Images courtesy

Lover of positive vibes and good music.