Final List of Nominees For The 2022 SOYA Awards Released

The final list for the 2022 Sports Personality of the Year Award (SOYA) has been released ahead of the much-anticipated gala set to take place Friday, January 20th at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC).

Among the athletes headlining the event include 100m sprinter, Ferdinand Omanyala and 1500m Olympic champion, Faith Kipyegon.

In the men’s category Omanyala faces stiff competition from marathon world record holder Eliud Kipchoge, rally star Kara Patel, boxer Nick “Commander” Okoth, and 800m Olympic and World champion, Emmanuel Korir.

As for the women’s category, Faith Kipyegon will be up against tennis star, Angela Okutoyi, who won Kenya’s first-ever grand slam title, golfer Naomi Wafula, Commonwealth Games champion, Mary Moraa, and her 5000m counterpart, Beatrice Chebet.

Defending champion for the Sportsman Living with a Disability and Deaflympian Simon Kibai will face golfer Isaac Makokha, Ian Wambui, Lucas Wandia, and wheelchair athlete Wesley Sang.

Last year’s winner of the Sportswoman Living with a Disability and famous Paralympian, Nancy Chelangat will compete against Beryl Wamira, Serah Wangari, Linnet Fwamba, and para-lifter Hellen Wawira.

Those listed in the Most Promising Boy category include World Under-20 champion, Reynold Kipkorir, rally driver, Karamveer Singh, golfer Andrew Wahome, weight lifter Joshua Amunga and Judoka, David Katana.

Nominees for Most Promising Girl include basketballer Medina Okot, weightlifter Rachel Achieng, Commonwealth Games champion, Jackeline Chepkoech, 3000m champion Betty Chelangat and 3000m Steeplechase in the World Under-20 championships champion Faith Cherotich.

Para-lifter tactician, David Waore, Sammy Kiki of Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) men’s basketball, his counterpart Anthony Ojukwu of KPA women’s side, Dennis Mwanja of Kenya Lionesses and Japheth Munala of KCB women’s volleyball will compete for Coach of the Year.

The 4 X 100m relay team that won gold at the Africa championships, the handball side the National Cereals and Produce Board (NCPBA) rugby teams Menengai Oilers 7s and Kabras Sugar RFC who won the Kenya Cup will contend for the Sports Team of the Year (Men) award.

Sports Team of the year (Women) category includes KCB volleyball side, Strathmore Scorpions hockey team, Nairobi Water handball squad, Kenya Lionesses 15s side, and the 4 X 400m Commonwealth Games team.