Everything You Need To Know About Coke Studio Africa 2017

What was once an idea of maximising on the potential of African music on the continent, has turned into a behemoth.

Coke Studio Africa is at the forefront of bringing talented artists together, creating effortless fusion, and generating global buzz for musicians who are looking for that very platform.

And now Coke Studio Africa is looking to grow and expand even further.

Here’s what you need to know:

Coke Studio Africa and Coke Studio South Africa have merged for 2017, into one.

The merger increases the number of participating countries to 16, up from 11 in previous edition.

This season will broadcast in more than 30 countries across Africa and artists who will feature, come from countries as diverse as South Africa, Rwanda, Angola, Zimbabwe, Togo, Madagascar, Mauritius, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria, Ghana, Mozambique, DRC, Ethiopia, Cameroon.


Some of the names taking part this season?

Khaligraph Jones & Band Becca from Kenya
Rayvanny, Izzo Bizness, Nandy from Tanzania
Sami Dan from Ethiopia
Bebe Cool, Eddy Kenzo and Sheebah, Ykee Benda representing Uganda
Nasty C, Busiswa, Mashayabhuqe from South Africa
Youssoupha from Democratic Republic of Congo,
Runtown and Yemi from Nigeria.
Dji Tafinha from Angola, Laura Beg from Mauritius
Jah Prayzah and Slapdee from Central Africa Republic
Bisa Kdei and Worlasi from Ghana


Producers taking part this year include:

Sketchy Bongo from South Africa Kiff No beat from Ivory Coast Nahreel from Tanzania

We’re getting up for some fantastic performances this year – and the refreshed lineup should make for some out of the box fusion.

I love music and food! Radio presenter and lifestyle editor at Homeboyz Radio. Esoteric. Raw Like Sushi