Defending Champs Kenya 7s In Singapore 7s Pool I

Singapore sevens defending champions Kenya Sevens are grouped in pool C of the eighth round of HSBC World sevens series, Singapore, set for Saturday, Apr 15, 2017.

Kenya, who won the 2016 edition by beating Fiji Sevens will take on Australia, Argentina and Samoa after going out in the Challenge Trophy final in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong 7s winners Fiji are seeded top in pool A which will house the Canadians who have perhaps the least intimidating pool of the draw with 14th-ranked Russia and invitational side Hong Kong at the bottom end.

Hong Kong 7s runner-up South Africa still maintain their position as series leaders overall and can look forward to the significant challenge, in Pool B, of taking on the team who overcame them in the finals of Vancouver and Cape Town – England. France and Japan make up the compliment.

The USA will meet New Zealand, Scotland and Wales in Pool D. Neil Powell, coach of the Blitzboks is in an expectant mood, despite the Hong Kong final loss: “We need another strong performance in Singapore next weekend to keep the pressure on Fiji and England.”

Kenya Sevens goes to Singapore sitting eleventh with 47 points after Hong Kong 7s where they traded places with France who dropped to 12th spot with 46 points after adding five to their 41 at the close of Vancouver 7s by making it to the challenge trophy semis.

Kenya’s journey  to cup win on 2016 saw them beat Russia 21-7, draw 12-12 with Scotland and lose 14-0 to South Africa before beating France 28-7 in Cup quarters, Argentina 15-12 in the semis and Fiji 30-7 in the final

Singapore 7s Draw

Pool A: Fiji, Russia, Hong Kong, Canada

Pool B: South Africa, England, France, Japan

Pool C: Australia, Kenya, Samoa, Argentina
Pool D: USA, New Zealand, Scotland, Wales

Sports and Technology Reporter. I use my football skills to convert Rugby tries.