Comedians Among Top Winners In Concluded Kalasha Awards [Full List]

Churchill show comedian MCA Tricky and Churchill Raw’s MC Jessy were among the winners in the just concluded 8th edition of the Kalasha International awards held during the weekend.

The pair won best performance in TV comedy and Best host in a TV show respectively in the Television category while Brenda Wairimu and Pascal Tokodi took home the best lead actress in the film category for her role in the film Subira, as Tokodi won the best supporting actor award for featuring in the movie Disconnect.

The event was held at Safari Park hotel and saw a number of government officials and politicians attend.

Among those who attended include: Baringo Senator Gideon Moi, ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru, principal secretaries Fatuma Hirsi and Jerome Ochieng, and officials from the French embassy attended the function.

Others included actors Charles Bukeko (Papa Shirandula), Mary Khavere (Mama Kayai), Lucy Wangui and Nairobi Woman Representative Esther Passaris.

Here are the winners:


Best Lead Actor – Johnson Chege, Supa Modo

Best Lead Actress – Brenda Wairimu, Subira

Best Director – Rayneet Sippy Chanda, Subira

Best Supporting Actor – Pascal Tokodi, Disconnect

Best Supporting Actress – Marianne Nungo, Supa Modo

Best Director of Photography – Andrew Mageto, Disconnect

Best Editor – Roselida Tabu and Terry Kelly, Subira

Best Sound Design – Eric Musyoka, Disconnect

Best Lighting – Saul Ogada, Subira

Best Special Effects – Stephen Mwangudza, Ramah potter

Best Production Designer – Neha Manoj Shah, Supa Modo

Best Animation Production – Brian K. Tarus, Isolated

Best Diaspora Production – The Silent Battle, Samuel Oluoko

Best Documentary – Thank you for the Rain, Emily Wanja

Best Documentary by a student – No means No, Bobby Owuor

Best Student Film – White Feature, Martin Okello

Best Feature Film – Subira

Best Short Film – Poacher, Davina Leonard

Best Local Language Film – World Tofauti, Kang’ethe Mungai

Best Original Score – Hart The Band, World Tofauti

Best Original Screen Play – Supa Modo

Life Achievement Award – Njeri Karago


Best Lead Actor TV Drama – Eddie Peter, My Two wives

Best Lead Actress TV Drama – Diana Mulwa, My two wives.

Best Performance TV comedy – MCA Tricky, Churchill Show

Best Programming Code – K24 TV

Best Host TV show – Emcee Jessy, Churchill Raw

Best TV Drama – Selina, Reuben Odanga

Best TV show – Churchill Raw

Best TV Comedy – The Real Househelps of Kawangware

Best TV advertisement – Modern Coast, Life is a journey

Kituo Halisi Award (Local Content) – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC)

Digital Factory. For content and other digital services, email: