Big Scoops on The KPL Awards 2016

It is awards season and the sports section is stepping up to recognize the talents and personnel who displayed exemplary sportsmanship this year. The Kenya Premier League awards gala went down on Tuesday night at the Safari Park hotel. A whopping Ksh6.6million up for grabs in the 13 categories, football fraternity will surely have a merry holiday off these prizes.

The most lucrative category was the MVP- Most Valuable player where Western Stima’s Kenneth Muguna scooped the Ksh1.6Million prize money cheque. He faced rivalry from Gor Mahia’s Eric Ouma and Ulinzi Stars striker John Makatwa. Muguna also took home ‘Midfielder of the Year’ second runners up title earning him a 43 Inch television set and smartphone. The recognition came in handy after he wowed many with his skill and tact on his debut season propelling his club to sixth position overall.


Kenneth Miguna

The Golden Boot (Top Scorer) and Golden Glove (Goalkeeper) were the second most profitable sections with winners taking home Ksh500, 000 each. Patrick Matasi of Posta Rangers FC bagged the Golden Glove while John Makatwa took home the Golden Boot. Makatwa Scored 15 goals in the just finished season for Ulinzi Stars football club.

2016 league cup winners Tusker FC were disappointed in bagging just one award, which is Manager Of The Year. They successfully ended Gor Mahia’s 3-year win mode this year. Tusker Midfielder Humphrey Opondo Settled for a 3rd runners up in that category.

To ensure every winner took home something, 43-inch flat screen TV sets were awarded to all winners  in the 13 categories. Runners up were handed took the set cash prizes per class and also some sleek LG smartphones. 3rd runners-up took home cash and LG microwaves as bonuses.

Here is the Full List of Winners in The KPL Footballer of the Year Awards

Most Valuable Player Kenneth Muguna Western Stima

Golden Boot John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

Golden Glove Award- Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)

Defender of the Year Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)

 Midfielder of the Year Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

Fairplay Player of the Year – Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz)

 Fairplay Team of the YearKakamega Homeboyz

New Player of the YearEric Ouma (Gor Mahia)

Team Manager of the YearGeorge Opondo (Tusker)

Referee of the YearAnthony Ogwayo

 Assistant Referee of the Year – Gilbert Cheruiyot

Coach of the Year – Paul Nkata (Tusker)




I shoot to the moon because if i miss i land on stars. My Life is Now!! So come join me and we find out the next escapade.