5 Noteworthy Kenyan EPs to Revamp Your Playlist

An Extended Play (EP) is a collection of songs by a musician, and it is usually longer than a single but shorter than album. While most EPs contain 1-3 songs and last not longer than 30 minutes, some contain even up to 10 songs.

EPs have been used since time in memorial to introduce new artistes to the industry or by established artistes to experiment with new genres and styles of music among other uses. Many times, EPs are released digitally. Below are some Kenyan EPs to spruce up your playlist:

  • Pesa Yadh Gwonyo – Vicmass Luodollar

Pesa yadh gwonyo is a dholuo word meaning ‘Money is the medicine for poverty.’ This EP features 3 tracks i.e. Wacha Mchezo, Call Police and London. It is like a breath of fresh air as the Bank Otuch hitmaker experiments with new styles of music such as Afro Pop. Listen to it here

  • The Wavey EP – Vallerie Muthoni

This is EP is a bold expression of the singer’s messages. It features 5 songs i.e. Waves Never Die, Me, You & The Sea, Brown Suga, Lovers Game and End Rap Culture. The tracks are mainly Hip Hop and Vallerie uses these songs to convey strong messages such as Effects of Rape Culture. Click here to find the full EP

  • Shift Happens – Emma Cheruto

This is the soulful singer’s debut EP. It has 6 songs namely: Nice Car, Switch, Is It Though, Get Up, Look At What You Did, Circles and Mood. The songs tell of the different stages of love and relationships. Cheruto has featured rapper and sing Vallerie Muthoni in one of the tracks, Switch, in this project.

  • Murasta EP

This is a unique EP as it is a merge of Ayrosh’s love for music and pride in his culture. The music in this collection features traditional instruments adding a beautiful melody to the modern instruments and Ayrosh’s amazing vocals. The 5 tracks in this EP include Uka Mami, Murasta, Ngutunge, Nikikosa and Kirinyaga. Click here to get the full EP.

  • Don’t Consume if Seal Is Broken – Wangechi

This is yet another rap and Hip Hop Ep. It is the longest EP in this list as it has 9 tracks. The songs include Slow, Not, Alright, Memories, Home, Ain’t It Funny, Helium, Off Beat and Silver Lining. The tracks have a groovy feel. She featured Taio Tripper, Didge, 125 and Kevin Provoke on this project. Click here to get the EP.

Images courtesy.

Email me at agnesopondo@gmail.com